and the
Citizens Economic Research Foundation

 CLT's 2½ PAC-endorsed candidates for 2006

CLT's 2½ PAC endorses incumbents who have challengers and scored high on the latest CLT Legislative Rating.  Challengers are endorsed if they return a CLT issues questionnaire and sign the "No New Taxes" Taxpayer Protection Pledge.

CLT’s 2½ PAC has endorsed forty-three candidates for the state Legislature in next Tuesday’s election.

This group includes twenty-six challengers to incumbents, ten candidates running for open seats, and seven incumbents running for re-election.

The average CLT taxpayer rating of the incumbents being challenged is eight percent.  The average rating of our endorsed incumbents is 95 percent.  For easier identification of the districts, the candidates’ hometowns are listed following their names.

Important note:  Due to the recent death of an incumbent legislator, a write-in campaign will determine the next State Representative from Framingham’s 6th Middlesex district.  One of our endorsed candidates, Nick Sanchez, is running for that seat.  If you want to help his write-in campaign call him at 508-872-4205.

Candidate District
John Andrulis, Northampton 1st Hampshire
Megan Anzalotti, Springfield 9th Hampden
Fred “Jay” Barrows, Mansfield 1st Bristol
Lawrence Brennan, Georgetown 18th Essex
Andrew Burbine, Abington 7th Plymouth
Stephen J. Comtois, Brookfield 5th Worcester
William L. Crocker, Jr., Barnstable 2nd Barnstable
Olly deMacedo, Kingston 12th Plymouth
Rep. Lew Evangelidis (R-Holden) 1st Worcester
Elizabeth Firenze, Belmont 24th Middlesex
Robert Gardner, New Bedford 13th Bristol
Althea Garrison, Boston 5th Suffolk
Rep. Susan Gifford (R-Wareham) 2nd Plymouth
Rep. Robert Hargraves (R-Groton) 1st Middlesex
Kevin C. Hayes, Shirley 37th Middlesex
Steven Howitt, Seekonk 4th Bristol
Henry R. Irving, Cambridge 25th Middlesex
Raymond P. Leary,Jr., Fall River 7th Bristol
Christopher R. Leisey, Wilbraham 12th Hampden
Rep. John Lepper (R-Attleboro) 2nd Bristol
Robert Magovern, Agawam 3rd Hampden
Keith A. Mercurio, Watertown 29th Middlesex
Richard W. Neitz, Yarmouth 1st Barnstable
Rep. Susan Pope (R-Wayland) 13th Middlesex
James R. Powell, West Tisbury Barnstable, Dukes & Nantucket
Matthew Prahl, Lowell 16th Middlesex
Kenneth J. Procaccianti, Boston 3rd Suffollk
Nick Sanchez, Framingham 6th Middlesex
David Singer, Charlton 6th Worcester
Robert M. Thomas, Weymouth 4th Norfolk
George J. Vazguez, Springfield 10th Hampden
Rep Daniel K. Webster (R-Hanson) 6th Plymouth
William Whittlesey, Sherborn 5th Middlesex
Lydia Wiener, Sharon 8th Norfolk
Peter F. Winters, Marion 10th Bristol


Candidate District
James J. Aldred, Randolph Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth
Michael Atwill, Mansfield Bristol & Norfolk
Ricardo Barros, Barnstable Cape & Islands
Sen. Robert Hedlund (R-Weymouth) Plymouth & Norfolk
Matt Kinnaman, Lee Berkshire, Hampshire & Franklin
Sandra B. Martinez, Chelmsford 3rd Middlesex
Douglas E. Obey, Westwood Suffolk & Norfolk
Richard J. Peters, Worcester 2nd Worcester


Return to CLT home page