and the
Citizens Economic Research Foundation

CLT’s 2˝ PAC


Incumbents (with opposition) seeking re-election were selected based on how well they scored on the 2007-08 CLT Legislative Rating. The nine incumbents endorsed had an average rating of 94%.

Non-incumbent candidates of all parties, to receive an endorsement, first had to return our PAC questionnaire. Their responses basically agreed with CLT's pro-taxpayer positions. They also had to sign and return the Taxpayer Protection Pledge on which they vowed to "oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes."

If a candidate failed to return both the questionnaire and signed pledge, then an endorsement was not considered.

Note:  All candidates are Republicans except for two Independents:  John Valianti, candidate for the House, and Althea Garrison, candidate for the Senate.

Hometowns are listed to the right of non-incumbents’ names for identification purposes.

Focus on Four

CLT's 2˝ PAC has endorsed 33 candidates for the State Legislature. However we urge CLT members to "Focus on Four" of these candidates, especially if they're in your area. These four are running against incumbents who, collectively, on twenty-four votes dating back to 2002 voted against the income tax rollback. The four challengers are running great campaigns, have a decent shot at winning and each has received the maximum donation by the PAC.

The four are:

1. Sandi Martinez (Chelmsford vs. Sen. Susan Fargo (D-Lincoln) 2. Lonnie Brennan (Georgetown) vs. Rep. Barbara L'Italien (D-Andover) 3. Kevin Kuros (Uxbridge) vs. Rep. Paul Kujawski (D-Webster)  4. Anthony Lucacio (Billerica) vs. Rep. William Greene (D-Billerica)

State Senate


Sen. Scott Brown (R-Wrentham)

Norfolk, Bristol & Middlesex

Brion Cangiamila (Billerica)

4th Middlesex

Althea Garrison (Boston) 1st Suffolk
John Lebeaux (Shrewsbury) 2nd Worcester
Steven Levy (Marlboro) Middlesex & Worcester
Sandra Martinez (Chelmsford) 3rd Middlesex
Keith McCormic (Greenfield) Hampshire & Franklin
Jon Rockwood (Walpole) Bristol & Norfolk

State House of Representatives


Paul Avella (Littleton) 2nd Middlesex
Rep. Jay Barrows (R-Mansfield) 1st Bristol
John Blaisdell (Marblehead) 8th Essex
Lonnie Brennan (Georgetown) 18th Essex
Ronald Cherniskey (Southbridge) 6th Worcester
Stephen Comtois (Brookfield) 5th Worcester
Rep. Vinny deMacedo (R-Plymouth) 1st Plymouth
C J Ferry (Fall River) 7th Bristol
Rep. Paul Frost (R- Auburn) 7th Worcester
Rep. Robert Hargraves (R-Groton) 1st Middlesex
Kurt Hayes (Boxboro) 37th Middlesex
Rep. Bradford Hill (R- Ipswich) 4th Essex
Rep. Donald Humason (R- Westfield) 4th Hampden
Rep. Bradley Jones (R-North Reading) 20th Middlesex
Kevin Kuros (Uxbridge) 8th Worcester
Anthony Lucacio (Billerica) 22nd Middlesex
Lawrence Novak (Brockton) 9th Plymouth
Brian O’Connor (Winchester) 31st Middlesex
Rep. Jeffrey Perry (R- Sandwich) 5th Barnstable
Susan Pope (Wayland) 13th Middlesex
George Ross (Attleboro) 2nd Bristol
Rep. Richard Ross (R- Wrentham) 9th Norfolk
William Scibelli (Longmeadow) 2nd Hampden
Robert Thomas (Weymouth) 4th Norfolk
John Valianti (Marshfield) 4th Plymouth